Registration for our 45th Annual PSONS Symposium is now live!
Saturday, September 21st
Located at the Greater Tacoma Convention Center
Click here for information and registration

The McCorkle award was developed in recognition of, and in gratitude to, Dr. Ruth McCorkle who played a key role in developing the Puget Sound Chapter of the Oncology Nursing Society. Each year, nominations are made for an awardee to present the McCorkle lecture at PSONS Symposium.

Dr. Ruth McCorkle was an oncology nurse, educator, and researcher. While working at the University of Washington she developed the Symptom Distress Scale with Kathy Young Graham, a tool still in use today to evaluate the symptoms of cancer patients. Her research also focused on relieving distress of caregivers of terminally ill cancer patients, and developing a training program for advanced practice nurses delivering nursing interventions for patients and their families across the cancer trajectory.

Nominees for the McCorkle Award must be a current member of the Puget Sound Chapter of the Oncology Nursing Society who has had an active role in the field of oncology nursing. This role may be in clinical practice, in advanced practice, in education, in leadership, or in research. Selection will be based on their demonstration of ONS core values (inclusivity, excellence, advocacy, and innovation) as well as examples of their contributions to oncology nursing (such as presentations, in-services, and publications).

Past McCorkle Awardees

1987 – Jeanne Quint Benoliel, D.N.Sc., RN
1988 – Frances Marcus Lewis, PhD, RN, FAAN
1989 – Barbara C. Germino, PhD, RN, FAAN
1990 – Ann Hughes, RN, MN, FAAN
1991 – Janet Applebaum, RN, MN
1992 – Ryan Iwamoto, RN, MSN
1993 – Brenda Nevidjon, RN, MSN
1994 – Ann Reiner, RN, MN, OCN
1995 – Betty Gallucci, PhD, RN
1996 – Patty Jordan, RN, MN
1997 – Ann McElroy, RN, MSN
1998 – Patty Mulhern, RN, MN
1999 – Renee Yanke, RN, MN, ARNP, AOCN
2000 – Mona Stage, BSN, RN, NE-BC, OCN
2001 – Diana Wilke, PhD, RN
2002 – Patricia C. Buchsel, RN, MSN, FAAN
2003 – Judy Petersen, RN, MN, AOCN
2004 – Ruth McCorkle, PHd, RN, FAAN

2005 – Elizabeth J. White, RN, MN, AOCN
2006 – Susan Ford, RN, MN, AOCN
2007 – Cathy Goetsch, RN, MN, ARNP
2008 – Susan Drummond, RN, MN, AOCN
2009 – Carla Jolley, RN, MN, AOCN
2010 – Donna Berry, PhD, RN, FAAN
2011 – Linda Cuaron, RN, MN, AOCN
2012 – Nancy Thompson, RN, MSN, AOCN
2013 – Mary Jo Sarver, ARNP, AOCN, CRNI, LNC
2014 – Renita Vance, MSN, RN
2015 – Marge Ramsdell, RN, MSN, OCN
2016 – Juanita Madison, RN, MN, AOCN
2017 – Lenise Taylor, MN, RN, AOCNS, BMTCN
2018 – Ruth McCorkle, PhD, RN, FAAN
2019 – Kathleen Shannon-Dorcy, PhD, RN, FAAN
2021 – Seth Eisenberg, ADN, RN, OCN, BMTCN
2022 – Dana Scharfenberg, MN, RN, OCN, CPAN
2023 – Ann Breen, MN, RN, OCN & Arlyce Coumar, MN, RN, OCN